About NAIT  

Honorary Degree

Candidates for an honorary degree are exceptional individuals that have made significant contributions and accomplishments locally, nationally or internationally. The award honours excellence in three primary areas:

  1. Support of NAIT’s vision, values and promises: The candidate strongly exemplifies NAIT’s vision, values and promises in areas that extend beyond their own area of expertise. The candidate supports change and builds a more inclusive, equitable and diverse community.
  2. Learning growth – supports the uniqueness of polytechnic education and lifelong learning: The candidate demonstrates an exceptional impact on the NAIT community, is a champion of student success and supports NAIT and lifelong learning.
  3. Community growth – an inspiring leader and/or corporate citizen: The candidate exemplifies exceptional corporate citizenship through philanthropy, volunteering, public service and/or industriousness. The candidate is a role model for current and future graduates, and champions others in their own journeys.

A selection committee made up of NAIT staff will review nominations and make recommendations, which are then reviewed by NAIT’s Academic Council and Executive Management Committee. The Board of Governors selects the final award recipients.

Submit a Nomination

We invite all members of the NAIT community to submit a nomination for consideration. Nominations will be accepted until January 6, 2023.

Submit a nomination

2022 Honorary Degree Recipients

Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe

NAIT alum Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe receives honorary degree for spotlighting Black music and culture.

Mauro Chies

NAIT alum Mauro Chies receives honorary degree for a unique focus on the well-being of Albertans.

Angela Armstrong

Edmonton business leader Angela Armstrong receives honorary degree for championing women in industry and entrepreneurship.

Kelsey Mitchell

NAIT grad Kelsey Mitchell receives honorary degree for unwavering dedication and determination.

Previous Years Recipients

  • 2021 - Shane Chartrand, Linda Hughes, Daryl McIntyre, Dr. Raymond Rajotte 
  • 2019 - Paul Verhesen, William Andrew Jean Morin, Diane Brickner, George Schluessel
  • 2018 - Teresa Spinelli, Bart Yachimec, Jeorg Goetsch and Mike Begin
  • 2017 - Ashif Mawji, Javaid (Jerry) Naqvi
  • 2016 - Ken Lueers, Jim Rakievich, Stewart Roth
  • 2015 - Naseem Bashir, Doug Golosky, Douglas O. Goss, Q.C., AOE
  • 2014 - Bob Gomes, Edward Stelmach, C.J. Woods, FCA
  • 2013 - Chief James Ahnassay, Ray Pisani, Daniel Wai Yuk Yeung
  • 2012 - Don Breen, Andrew Clark, Darren Entwistle
  • 2011 - Dr. Margaret-Ann Armour, Clifford Giese, Yasmin Jivraj
  • 2010 - Arlene Dickinson, Kevin Martin
  • 2009 - Laurence M. Pollock, Don Oborowsky
  • 2008 - Ruth Kelly, Don Metz
  • 2007 - JR Shaw, Kevin Nabholz
  • 2006 - JudyLynn Archer, John Stanton
  • 2005 - Audrey Poitras, Lynda Steele, Reg Isley
  • 2004 - Neil R. Wilkinson, C.J. (Cliff) Williams
  • 2003 - Simon Smotkowicz, Thelma Chalifoux
  • 2002 - Hon. Ernest C. Manning
  • 2001 - Cam Tait, Harry Buddle
  • 2000 - Eric Newell, Jim Edwards, Gil Cardinal
  • 1999 - Madeleine Mercier, Henry Gusse
Shopping Cart Quick View
Open Shopping Cart